Kathleen Gee, closing in!


Closing in on the final draft.

The hull form is dialed in. Have the Center of Buoyancy and the Prismatic Coefficient where I want them.

The interior has a bit more headroom and a larger house. The companion ladder is in two parts. I’d leave the upper section out and climb down, leaving the wrap-around counter clear. You can see how the cockpit coaming is arranged. The one big fault I have with these cutters and yawls is the tight, cramped cockpit. This opens up the space out to the rail. The coaming-top makes a great seat and can have cubbies in it for storage. In this iteration I’ve sidestepped the whole yawl-tiller question by showing a wheel. I’d rig this to a tackle running from rail to rail under the mizzen-partner.

The larger house and turning the dinghy around leaves a bit more space to squeeze in and out of the companion when the dinghy’s stowed on deck. In hot climates the extra sun-protection for the house top would be worth some inconvenience….

 

The engine and prop aperture are lower and the bilges deeper than in the last draft. The ballast casting is not finalized. I expect significant inside ballast placed below the galley sole will be required to bring her down to her lines. This makes loading more flexible. Ballast can be added or removed depending on what else is being carried… at least when planning a long passage.

Here’s the cutter rig over the new hull.

For more take a look at the updated Project Page.

 

2 thoughts on “Kathleen Gee, closing in!

  1. Dear Antonio,
    Every updated design you post makes me that much more anxious for the updates to SMALL….. She is the only boat I want to build starting this fall!

    I wish I had a shop full of craftsmen and wood as I would build them ALL! You are my Cap’n Nat !
    Sincerely,
    Cap’n Dan

    Like

Leave a Reply

